Variations on a Theme

Module 5: Assignment #2

Below is my version of “Don’t Stop Believin'” by Journey.

My definition of creativity is continuing to evolve after rewriting this song.  My interview with Christen sparked the change in my ideas and now I really feel that creativity is a skill that everyone has the potential to strengthen.  I love how simple Steve Jobs puts it as, “Creativity is just connecting things” (Henriksen & Mishra, 2014).  Creativity to me is not something given, but something to be nurtured and developed.

Choosing a song to rewrite was a challenge.  I started rewriting a Taylor Swift song and changed to a Backstreet Boys song.  I concluded that I needed a very familiar song in order for me to keep the melody and rhyming similar to the original.  I changed almost all of the lyrics and only left a few words.  I really enjoyed this process and saw potential in using a similar activity with my class.  During student teaching I had my fifth graders rewrite lyrics to any song and relate it to an explorer.  They loved it and I found the music helped the content stick for them.  In Geometry this may be more difficult, but I think it would be worth a shot!

Henriksen, D., Mishra, P., & the Deep-Play research group (2014). Twisting knobs and connecting things: Rethinking Technology & Creativity in the 21st Century. Tech Trends, (58)1, P. 15-19

Leave a Reply

