Calligraphy Creations

My original idea for my networked learning project was to learn calligraphy and then make a piece of artwork for my classroom.  I thought that learning these new skills would be simple because I have “pretty” handwriting.  However, learning calligraphy took more time than I thought as I met many challenges along the way.

I started out by researching different online resources to help me plan my project.  I was a little overwhelmed with everything that is available regarding this topic.  I had to sort through the good and the bad.  I came to learn that there are not only different styles of handwriting, but many different styles of calligraphy.  After buying my supplies, I moved on to the process of learning calligraphy.

It was difficult to form the basic strokes using the Speedball Crow Quill pen and ink.  Once I was comfortable with this writing utensil I moved on to another calligraphy pen and some markers to test out which one worked the best for me.  I love the Black Manuscript italic calligraphy pen!

Practicing lowercase and uppercase letters took lots of practice.  I enjoyed playing around with words and how I organized the letters.  Most calligraphers have their own unique style to writing and I wanted to try some things out.

My first creation on the small canvas was a learning experience.  Spacing the letters out was very difficult.  I used pencil and had to keep erasing to make sure that the sizing was consistent.  I also wanted the final product to fit the whole canvas.  I used both a calligraphy marker and Sharpie brush tip marker because I wanted the letters to stand out.

After hours of research, shopping, and practicing my skills, I was ready to create my final project!  I created this video to showcase what I learned through this networked learning adventure.

I am so happy with the way my project turned out!  It was definitely frustrating at times, but I am proud of myself for working through issues that popped up.  The quote I chose for the final project emulates the attitude that I want my students to have regarding failure.  People learn better from their own failed solutions rather than those provided by others (Kapur, 2014).

IMG_9358

Photo Credit: Kelsey Masserant

Throughout this project, my ideas were constantly changing.  I remixed the final product and wrote on a stepping stone rather than the large canvas.  This surface was rough and made the calligraphy more of a challenge.  This remix idea came to me after going through Berger’s Why, What If, and How questioning process (Berger, 2014).  I continued to question and analyze the best way to solve problems that I faced.  The more beautiful questions you ask, the better outcomes you will have (2014).

Creativity and innovation go hand in
hand with questioning.  It is important to note that “successful innovation requires experimentation and learning from failure” (Ray and Wilcox, 2015).  Without experimenting and learning from my mistakes, I do not think my final product would look the same.

Overall, I am very proud of how everything turned out.  I am excited to continue with my calligraphy journey.  I also want to incorporate a project like this in my classroom where students can learn from doing and be creative!

IMG_9378.JPG

Photo Credit: Kelsey Masserant

Berger, W. (2014). A more beautiful question: The power of inquiry to spark breakthrough ideas. New York, NY: Bloomsbury.

Happiness. (2012). [Recorded by Royalty Free Music from Bensound]. On http://www.bensound.com

Kapur, Manu. “Comparing Learning from Productive Failure and Vicarious Failure.”Journal of the Learning Sciences 23.4 (2014): 651-77. ProQuest. Web. 13 July 2016.

Wilcox, K. & Ray, E. (2015, March 2). Embracing Failure to Spur Success: A New Collaborative Innovation Model. EDUCAUSE Review, vol. 50, no. 2. Retrieved July 13, 2016.

One thought on “Calligraphy Creations

Leave a Reply

